Local Youth Club Equipment Grant Scheme 2017 Provides €430,000 to 100 Youth Clubs and Groups

Donegal ETB’s Youth Work Committee, at its meeting on 15 December, discussed the Local Youth Club Equipment Grant Scheme 2017 that provided funding of €430,000 to 100 Youth Clubs and Groups throughout Co Donegal. Members heard that Youth Clubs and Groups could purchase storage, IT, electrical, sporting, art and drama equipment etc, enhancing the experience of young people, supporting the work of volunteers,and providing vital equipment to local youth clubs and groups.  Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Dr Catherine Zappone, was delighted to announce the scheme which supports volunteer-led youth club/group activities at a local level.  It also conveys recognition of the important role of volunteer-led youth clubs/groups in supporting young people, and their engagement with the incorporation of the National Quality Standards for Volunteer-led Youth Groups (NQSVlYG).  Funding for the Scheme is provided by the Department of Children and Youth Affairs (DCYA) and is administered locally by Education and Training Boards (ETBs) on behalf of DCYA.

Donegal ETB Youth Work Committee: Back row (l-r): Cllr John Sheamuis O’Fearraigh (Muintearas), Anne Timoney Meehan (CYPSC Coordinator), Cllr Gary Doherty (Donegal ETB Member), Paddy Muldoon (Youth Officer, Donegal ETB), Lorraine Thompson (Donegal Youth Service and Youth Work Committee Deputy-Chairperson), Jason McLaughlin (Donegal Youth Council) and Gina Grant (Donegal ETB Member). Front row (l-r): Anne McHugh, (CE, Donegal ETB), Geoffrey Browne (Donegal ETB member and Youth Work Committee Chairperson) and Dr Martin Gormley (Director of Schools, Donegal ETB). Committee members absent from photo: Kerry Gallagher (Foroige), Kevin Ferguson (Scouting Ireland), Padraig McGettigan (Donegal Youth Council), Siobhan McLoughlin (Donegal Travellers Project) and Maeve Logue (An Garda Siochana).