New Chairperson Elected to Donegal ETB

Donegal ETB is pleased to announce that Geoffrey Browne was elected Chairperson of the Board this afternoon. Cllr Rena Donaghey was elected Deputy Chairperson.

Twenty-one representatives have been appointed to the Board of the largest education and training provider in the county.

The new Board is made up of twelve elected representatives, two staff, two parents, two local industry and three sectoral interest representatives.

Speaking about his election as Chairperson, Geoffrey Browne said, ‘I am delighted to be elected to this important role with Donegal ETB. It is the largest education and training provider in the county, managing fifteen out of the twenty-seven post-primary schools and is the largest provider of Further Education and Training (FET).  It also manages Gartan Outdoor Education and Training Centre, the Donegal Music Education Partnership and has legal responsibilities for youth work. In 2018 almost 26,000 students and learners availed of education and training through Donegal ETB. I look forward to supporting the staff of the ETB to continue this important work.”

The elected representative include Cllr Rena Donaghey, Cllr Ian McGarvey, Cllr Barry Sweeny, Cllr Albert Doherty, Cllr Gary Doherty, Cllr Martin Farren, Cllr Martin Harley, Cllr Donal Coyle, Cllr Michael McBride, Cllr Noreen McGarvey, Cllr Noel Jordan and Cllr John Sheamais Ó Fearraigh.

Staff representatives are Mr Noel Rodden and Ms Joanne Donaghy, while parents’ representatives are Mr Geoffrey Browne and Ms Lorraine Doherty.

The remaining five places have been filled by Ms Lorraine Thompson (Donegal Youth Service) representing Youth Work Ireland, Patsy McVicar representing the National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD), Regina Grant representing the Disability Federation of Ireland and industry representatives Brian McDermott (Foyle Hotel) representing the Irish Hospitality Institute and Gerard Grant (Pramerica) representing IBEC.

Speaking about the appointments, Donegal ETB Chief Executive Anne McHugh said, “I would like to congratulate Geoffrey Browne and Cllr Rena Donaghey on their election as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of Donegal ETB. We very much welcome all the appointments to our Board. Their contribution to the management of Donegal ETB’s work is central to our delivery of a quality, learner-centred education and training service. I look forward to working with all our Board members in the coming years.”

The board’s first official meeting took place on Monday 09 September.

Photography credit: Ciaran Cunningham

Newly elected Donegal ETB Chairperson Geoffry Browne (centre) with left-right, Dr Martin Gormley, Director of Schools; Anne McHugh, Chief Executive; Cróna Gallagher, Director of Further Education and Training and Jim McGlynn, Director of Organisation Support and Development.