Three Donegal ETB Students Awarded Optum Healthcare Scholarships

Three out of the six students from secondary schools across County Donegal who have been awarded an Optum Healthcare Scholarship to support them in their studies in the region are former Donegal ETB students.

Áine Kerr attended Deele College in Raphoe, while Charlotte Timony and Shaneen Graham both attended the Abbey Vocational School in Donegal Town.

Áine will now study science at Letterkenny Institute of Technology, Charlotte will study Psychology at NUI Galway and Shaneen will begin her studies in bio-pharmaceutical pharmacy also at NUI Galway.

The scholarship scheme is designed to support students in County Donegal who are studying healthcare and technology-related degree courses in the region in line with the Company’s mission to support the local healthcare system, contribute to a more diverse third-level sector and, create the healthcare workers of the future.

There was a high level of applications from students across County Donegal and applicants were adjudicated upon by a Selection Panel made up of representatives from Optum’s three partner Institutions- Letterkenny IT, Ulster University and NUI Galway. The Panel assessed many elements including academic achievement, financial means and any other obstacles (physical, cultural, social, emotional) in line with research on inequality of access to third-level education in Ireland. The Optum Healthcare Scholarship Scheme is designed to address this gap by supporting students to access quality third level courses and retain talent in the region.

The scholarship enables successful candidates to fully participate in college life and alleviates the financial burden on students and their families. The Optum Healthcare Scholars will formally receive their award at an Awards Ceremony in the Autumn.

Pictured left-right are the six Optum scholarship winners from across Co Donegal including three Donegal ETB students: Áine Kerr, Deele College (Science, LYIT), Charlotte Timony, Abbey Vocational School (Psychology, NUIG), Jamie Gallivan, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana (Applied Computing, LYIT), Shaneen Graham, Abbey Vocational School, (Bio-pharmaceutical Pharmacy, NUIG) Stephanie McDaid, Carndonagh CS (General Nursing, LYIT) and Nicole Laverty, St Columba’s Stranorlar (Early Childhood Care, Health & Education, LYIT).