Donegal ETB Student Success at BTYSE 2022

Image of Abbey Vocational School Principal, Ciara and teacher.
Ciara Cannon

Three Donegal ETB students were among the prize-winners at the 2022 BT Young Scientist Exhibition final held online on Friday 14 January:

  1. Abbey Vocational School student Ciara Cannon won second prize in her category, Intermediate Biological and Ecological, with her ‌investigation‌ ‌into‌ ‌the‌ ‌optimum‌ ‌antimicrobial‌ ‌activity‌ ‌of‌ ‌nanoparticles.
    Image of Hughie sitting.
    Hughie McShane
  2. Abbey Vocational School student Hughie McShane was highly commended in the Intermediate Technology category for his project on ‘An app to improve writing in children with dysgraphia’. He also picked up a display award for the same project which created a game to help the motor skills of people with dysgraphia, an under-researched condition that impairs writing and the ability to store a pattern in memory.
    Image of Iseult sitting beside a laptop.
    Iseult Ní Mhathúna
  3. Coláiste Ailigh student Iseult Ní Mhathúna won third place in the Senior Social and Behavioural category and won the best project through Irish for her project on the factors influencing young people’s attitudes towards a united Ireland.

There were fourteen entries from Donegal this year with nine of them from Donegal ETB students. The other six entries from Donegal ETB students, all from the Abbey Vocational School, were:

  1. Treating psoriasis with snail slime – Biological and Ecological (Group)
  2. Do subject ambassadors promote uptake of subjects at Leaving Cert? – Social and Behavioural Sciences (Individual)
  3. The most effective method of reducing anxiety in secondary school students post-Covid – Social and Behavioural Sciences (Group)
  4. Ciotach clean – Technology (Individual)
  5. A personal mobile device holder for medical environments – Technology (Individual)
  6. A dyslexia light with a difference – Technology (Group)

Donegal ETB would like to congratulate all the students who were involved in BTYSE 2022.